Friedrich-Alexander-Universität FAU-Logo
Techn. Fakultät Willkommen am Institut für Informatik FAU-Logo
Logo LSS
Lehrstuhl für Informatik 10
Guest Editors
Call for Papers
Deadlines
Review Process
Submission
Guest Editorial Board
Additional Information
Institut für Informatik  >  Informatik 10
SIAM J. Scientific Computing Special Issue on Computational Science \& Engineering

SIAM J. Scientific Computing Special Issue on Computational Science & Engineering


Guest Editors-in-Chief

    Chris Johnson
    Director, Scientific Computing and Imaging Institute
    University of Utah

    David Keyes
    Fu Foundation Professor of Applied Mathematics
    Columbia University

    Ulrich Ruede
    Universitaet Erlangen-Nuernberg
    Editor-in-Chief, SISC

Call for papers

Computational Science and Engineering (CS&E) is a rapidly growing multidisciplinary field that employs advanced computation to understand and solve complex problems. Recognizing the growing importance of and interest in CS&E, the SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing (SISC) will devote a special issue to innovative research papers in CS&E.

Many CS&E problems can be characterized by a "pipeline" that includes Modeling techniques (mathematical and geometric), Simulation techniques (discretizations, algorithms, data structures, software frameworks, and problem solving environments), and Analysis techniques (data mining, data management, visualization, and error, sensitivity, stability, and uncertainty analyses).

The guest editors are seeking cutting edge research papers that present a contribution to the development of novel computational methods for problems of the real world and describe several aspects of the CS&E pipeline involved in solving the problem. Papers should illustrate new and useful techniques and tools for handling realistic problems, which often have complicated three-dimensional geometries, multiple scales, heterogeneities, anisotropies, and multi-physical or biological descriptions. Though such problem domains often thwart proofs of accuracy or efficiency, papers should address validation and verification through reduction to analyzable cases and convergence studies, as applicable, and comparisons with alternative approaches.

Deadline Extended

The deadline for the submission of papers has been extended to May 15, 2007.

Review Process

Papers will be subject to review according to SISC standards by a guest Editorial Board. Manuscripts submitted after the April 30 deadline may not be considered for the Special Issue at the discretion of the Guest Editors-in-Charge.

Submission

All interested should submit a manuscript and cover letter in PDF format via SISC's online submission site. Please see Author Instructions on the site if unfamiliar with this web-based system. Note the block labeled Special Section (just under the keywords block on your submission screen) and select "Special Issue on Computational Science and Engineering" from the dropdown box. Also be sure to note in the Manuscript Comment text box at the bottom of this page that your work is intended for the Computational Science and Engineering Special Issue.

Guest Editorial Board

Gyan Bhanot
IBM Watson Research Center, Yorktown Hights, NY
gyan@us.ibm.com

Rupak Biswas
NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, CA
rbiswas@nas.nasa.gov

Edmond Chow
D. E. Shaw Research, LLC
Edmond.Chow@deshaw.com

Phil Colella
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
PColella@lbl.gov

Yuefan Deng
Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY
Brookhaven National Lab, Upton NY
Yuefan.Deng@StonyBrook.edu

Lori Freitag Diachin
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
diachin2@llnl.gov

Omar Ghattas
The University of Texas at Austin
omar@ices.utexas.edu

Laurence Halpern
Univ. Paris XIII
halpern@math.univ-paris13.fr

Robert Harrison
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
harrisonrj@ornl.gov

Bruce Hendrickson
Sandia National Laboratories
bahendr@sandia.gov

Kirk Jordan
IBM, Cambridge MA
kjordan@us.ibm.com

Tammy Kolda
Sandia National Laboratories
tgkolda@sandia.gov

Louis Komzsik
UGS Corp., Cypress, CA, USA
Louis.komzsik@ugs.com

Ulrich Langer
Johann Radon Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics (RICAM) Linz
ulrich.langer@assoc.oeaw.ac.at

Hans Petter Langtangen
Simula Research Laboratory, Oslo
hpl@simula.no

Steven Lee
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
slee@llnl.gov

Kengo Nakajima
University of Tokyo
nakajima@eps.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Aiichiro Nakano
University of Southern California, Los Angeles
anakano@usc.edu

Esmong G. Ng
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
EGNg@lbl.gov

David P. Young
Boeing
david.p.young@boeing.com

Stefan Turek
University of Dortmund, Germany
Stefan.Turek@math.uni-dortmund.de

Andy Wathen
Oxford University
Andy.Wathen@comlab.ox.ac.uk

Margaret Wright
New York University
mhw@cs.nyu.edu

Additional Information

If any questions, contact Mitch Chernoff, Publications Manager, SIAM, at chernoff@siam.org



  Impressum Stand: 10.11.2006 gfl